What goes into filing a death certificate?
We will gather the information from the Next-of-Kin needed to fill in the death certificate. The information is entered into the Texas Electronic Registrar - Death Registration system. The Next-of-Kin will verify the information by reviewing the Facts of Death Verification Form provided by your funeral director. Once the "Facts of Death Verification Form" is signed and dated we will assign the death record to the person who will certify the death certificate (Doctor, Medical Examiner or Justice of the Peace). The Texas State Statutes regarding death certificates are found in the Health and Safety Code, Chapter 193. When the death record is certified we will file it electronically with the State of Texas and order your certified copies. The first certified copy is $21.00 and each additional certified copy is $4.00 when ordered at the same time. Once ordered, please allow at least seven (7) business days for delivery to the funeral home. You can pick up the death certificates at the funeral home or they can be mailed to you. Regular mail is no charge (if you choose this option there is no tracking or replacement if lost) or Certified Mail at $7.00. We strongly recommend Certified Mail.
If the death certificate was certified by a Medical Examiner or a Justice of the Peace the cause of death may be listed as "Pending Investigation". If that is the case, you must still purchase one (1) certified copy at $21.00 when the certificate is filed electronically. You can purchase additional pending copies at $4.00 each at this time if you need to, or wait to purchase the amended copies when they become available. The amended copies start at $21.00 for the first and $4.00 for each additional certified copy when ordered at the same time. You can obtain the amended copies through the local where the death occured.
What happens if a mistake was made on the Death Certificate?
If you verified the information as correct on the "Facts of Death Verification Form" and a correction must be made after the death certificate has been filed you must file an Amendment to Death Record Form. There is a filing fee of $15.00 plus the cost of the amended certified copies.
REMEMBER It is your responsibility to verify the accuracy of the information on the "Facts of Death Verification Form". If you sign off on it as correct, the cost of amending it is your responsibility.